Celtic captain Scott Brown looks to have escaped ban as FIFA say ‘no disciplinary procedures being conducted’ into Scotland match

2
661

FOLLOW US ON  TWITTER | FACEBOOK

SCOTT BROWN is set to be cleared to face England this summer – if he decides to continue his Scotland comeback.

The Celtic skipper looks to have escaped an international ban after FIFA revealed they have not opened disciplinary procedures against the midfielder.

Brown was involved in two flashpoints towards the end of Sunday’s 1-0 victory over Slovenia that kept the nation’s World Cup dreams alive.

There were fears the 31-year-old could be dealt with by FIFA retrospectively after being accused by the Slovenians of a stamp on Jasmin Kurtic.

Brown had only moments earlier been the victim himself of an off-the-ball incident, when Josip Ilicic appeared to deliberately knee the Scotland captain in the leg as they awaited a throw-in.

As both clashes were missed by Dutch referee Bjorn Kuipers, the world governing body could have opted to charge Brown with misconduct and hit him with a suspension that would rule him out of June’s crucial clash with the Auld Enemy.

However, with FIFA yesterday opening a case against Wales full-back Neil Taylor for his challenge that left Republic of Ireland defender Seamus Coleman with a double leg break, Brown looks to be free to lead the country again if he decides to play on.

A FIFA spokesperson said: “No disciplinary proceedings are being conducted with respect to the Scotland V Slovenia match.”

2 COMMENTS

  1. You sound incredibly bitter about Scott brown there iain. You managed two digs about his coming out of retirement in a very short and uneventful article about nothing.
    Top class journalism here.

    • Not bitter at all. I’m a big fan and have been since he made his first-team debut. Re coming out of retirement, I was simply trying to qualify the fact he would be free to play against England – but might decide not to play. I hope he does.

Comments are closed.