T2 Trainspotting soundtrack revealed online


THE soundtrack to the much awaited T2 Trainspotting film appears to have been revealed, after becoming available to pre-order online.

The soundtrack, featuring Iggy Pop, Queen and Young Fathers is listed on Amazon as being released on January 27, the same day as the movie, but fans can pre-order it before then.

Fans of the movie were initially worried that the CD was a fake but its legitimacy appears to have been confirmed after Trainspotting author Irvine Welsh tweeted about it.

The track listing features classics from the first movie, including Iggy Pop’s Lust for Life, as well as music from more contemporary artists, such as Edinburgh-based hip-hop group Young Fathers.

Also included is a track called Slow Slippy, presumably an edited version of Underworld’s iconic tune Born Slippy, which featured on the first film.

Social media users appeared elated at the selections.

Max Sefton tweeted: “Brilliant seeing Young Fathers all over the T2: Trainspotting soundtrack. Top work Mr Irvine Welsh and co.”

Irvine Welsh then replied: “We’re very lucky to have them involved.”

James O’Neill wrote: “Great to see that the Rubberbandits is on the new Trainspotting 2 soundtrack.”

A user known mononymously as Clare said: “Looks like they’re going to nail the soundtrack again.”

Jonathon Chadwick added: “Soundtrack looks pretty decent but for the lack of Blur.”

The playlist appears to have struck a balance between music from the era

preceding the original Trainspotting movie and music from contemporary artists.

As well as Iggy Pop and Queen, music from The Clash and Run DMC is also featured on the soundtrack.

Irish comedy hip-hop duo The Rubberbandits, famous for their performances at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, are also present, as is Welsh DJ High Contrast.

The full track listing is as follows:

Lust for Life (The Prodigy Remix) – Iggy Pop

Shotgun Mouthwash – High Contrast

Silk – Wolf Alice

Get Up – Young Fathers

Relax – Frankie Goes to Hollywood

Eventually But (Spud’s Letter to Gail) [feat. Ewen Bremner] – Underworld

Only God Knows – Young Fathers

Dad’s Best Friend – The Rubberbandits

Dreaming – Blondie

Radio Ga Ga – Queen

It’s Like That – Run DMC vs. Jason Nevins

(White Man) in Hammersmith Palais – The Clash

Rain Or Shine – Young Fathers

Whitest Boy On the Beach – Fat White Family

Slow Slippy – Underworld