Sunday, June 26, 2022
BusinessUniversity reveals Scotland’s next business stars

University reveals Scotland’s next business stars

A SCOTTISH university has unveiled the “next wave of entrepreneurs” after winners of its prestigious business competition were rewarded with £38,000.

Winners of The University of Dundee’s Venture 2021 competition were announced with 13 students and staff members walking away with the prize money.

The showpiece event marked the culmination of the University’s annual Entrepreneurship Week, a series of workshops and lectures championing opportunities for small enterprise in Scotland.

Dundee University Campus - Education News Scotland
Thirteen enterprising students and staff members from across the University walked away with a share of a record £38,000 prize fund

Finalists pitched their business plans to a panel of leading business innovators, watched on by a live audience that included potential investors.

As well as funding to help support their business proposals, all winners receive a place on Elevator’s summer business accelerator programme.

The 12-week course allows start-up founders to fine tune their proposals. Winners also receive a membership for Entrepreneurial Scotland.

Brian McNicoll, Head of the Centre for Entrepreneurship, said, “Once again, our Venture final has highlighted the extraordinary thriving entrepreneurial culture within the University and the dynamism of our students and staff.

“Our judges were incredibly impressed by the creativity and dynamism demonstrated by all of our finalists, and choosing our winners was an incredibly tough process. Our finalists can feel incredibly proud of what they have achieved, and this competition will undoubtedly help all of them in pursuing their career goals.

“I congratulate all of our winners and look forward to seeing their exciting business concepts flourish.”

The winners of Venture 2021 are:

Student Award – Lauryn Pringle

School of Art and Design Student Award – Glen Craig

School of Life Sciences Award – Hanneke MacLaren

School of Medicine Award – Firas Bakri

Postgraduate Researcher Award – Jordana Freemantle

Science and Engineering Student Award – Antonio Rodriguez

Recent Graduate – Jennifer Rao-Williams and Lewis Kennedy (joint-winners)

Staff Award – Dr John Foerster and Dr Helge Dorfmueller (joint-winners)

Related Stories