Thursday, June 30, 2022
SportHibsJim Duffy and Neil Lennon both charged by SFA as ramifications of...

Jim Duffy and Neil Lennon both charged by SFA as ramifications of Hibs v Morton melee become clear


SCOTTISH Football Association compliance officer Tony McGlennan has issued five separate notices of complaint following the ugly touchline scrap between Hibernian and Morton.

Carnage erupted at Easter Road seven days ago when a wild challenge on Jordon Forster by Kudus Oyenuga sparked an almighty melee in injury time of an otherwise unremarkable 0-0 draw.

When the dust settled, Neil Lennon and Jim Duffy were sent to the stand, the Morton man was dismissed for the initial lunge and Hibs’ stand-in skipper Darren McGregor was given his marching orders for allegedly head-butting Oyenuga.

Yesterday, the ramifications were finally announced. Hibs head coach Lennon has been charged with misconduct for allegedly “adopting an aggressive attitude” towards his Ton counterpart Duffy, Oyenuga and the match officials, headed by referee Nick Walsh.

Morton’s coaching staff of Duffy and his assistant, Craig McPherson, have both been cited with the same offence towards Lennon.

The clubs themselves are also in the dock after they were charged with breaching Disciplinary Rule 204, relating to incidents where three or more members of staff become involved in a confrontation. If found guilty, that breach will incur a fine ranging from £250 to £5000.

Potential punishments for Lennon, Duffy and McPherson range from the ‘lower end’ of a two-match touchline ban to the ‘top end’ of a 10-game suspension.

All parties charged last night have until April 11 to provide an official response to the SFA, with all hearings slated to take place at Hampden on April 20.

Oyenuga has escaped further punishment after it was deemed that there was not sufficient evidence to charge the striker with simulation.

McGregor, meanwhile, will have his case for wrongful dismissal heard at the national stadium on Thursday. It is understood that the decision not to cite Oyenuga for diving does not necessarily mean McGregor’s red card will be upheld by the SFA disciplinary panel.

Related Stories